Thursday, November 15, 2018
You are here: Home » Literary Corner » Eko Award Winners Declared Bookmark This Page

Eko Award Winners Declared 

By Walter Wilson Nana

The awards committee for the Eko Prize for Literature and the Eko Prize for Emerging Anglophone Writers has made public their verdict. According to the committee’s judgment, Bole Butake, varsity lecturer, playwright and scholar of theatre arts, is the maiden winner of the Eko Prize for Literature.

The committee’s citation reads: “The award recognises the lifetime achievement of Bole Butake as a writer whose work, taken as a whole, has had a significant impact on literature in Cameroon and beyond.” Butake’s award is accompanied by a cash prize of $1000 plus a commemorative plaque on which his name is inscribed.

For the Eko Prize for Emerging Anglophone Writers, Tah Protus wins the prize for prose fiction for his work titled The Immortal Seed; Dona Forbin wins the Poetry category for her collection of poems titled Primitive Prayer; and Mathew Takwi, a staff of Cameroon GCE Board, wins the drama category with his work titled; Gaining the Game.  The respective award winners have a financial remuneration of $250 and a commemorative plaque on which the name of the winner is inscribed.

The entries for the non-fiction category were not good enough to merit any prize.
The President of the Anglophone Cameroon Writers’ Association, ACWA, Prof. John Nkemngong Nkengasong, lecturer in the Department of English, University of Yaounde I, expressed delight with the outcome of the awards and the fruitful relationship his association enjoys with The Eko Foundation.

The Eko Foundation is education oriented, with a focus on the development of Literature. It is a US-based Foundation, incorporated in the State of Iowa. They are working hand-in-glove with ACWA for the promotion of Anglophone Cameroon literature. The Prize-award ceremony has been slated for Friday, December 9, 2011 at the University of Yaounde I.

    Add a Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *