Sunday, October 25, 2020
You are here: Home » Carousel » Kameni Returns to Lions’ Den after 5 Years Bookmark This Page

Kameni Returns to Lions’ Den after 5 Years 

By Basil Afoni

Carlos Kameni 2

Carlos Kameni

After being on exile from the Lions’ den for close to five years, 31-year-old Carlos Kameni made his return to the national team squad ahead of Cameroon’s World Cup qualifier against Niger on November 13.

Errors from Barcelona B youngster, Joseph Fabrice Ondoua made football pundits to question why the Malaga goalkeeper who is in superlative form has been kept out on the squad. Also, football pundits have pondered why a bench-warming  Spanish division three goalkeeper should be the country’s number 1 when a goalkeeper like Kameni is in active service. The last time Kameni played for Cameroon was during the 2010 World Cup in South Africa.

Kameni represented the country in two World Cups and five Africa Cup of Nations tournaments making 70 appearances since 2001. He won the 2000 Summer Olympics, 2002 Africa Cup of Natioons and 2003 FIFA Confederations Runner-up with Cameroon.

Another player to make his return is 30-year-old captain of German Bundesliga side, FC Ingolstadt 04, Marvin Job Matip who is the senior brother of Joel Matip. Marvin made his debut for Cameroon in a friendly against Ukraine on June 2, 2013 and since then he has not featured for the Indomitable Lions.

Meanwhile, 26-year-old Tony Tchani who plays for Columbus Crew in Major League Soccer, USA, will be playing for the first time in the national team.

It should be noted that the list of players summoned was presented to FECAFOOT by Volker Finke before his dismissal as Head Coach of the Indomitable Lions last week. However, due to limited time, the list could not be changed by the new coach, Alexandre Belinga.

The players summoned will prepare for their World Cup qualifier game against Niger in Niamey.


Complete List of 25 players:


Joseph Fabrice Ondoua (FC Barcelona B)

Guy Roland Ndy Assembe (AS Nancy)

Carlos Kameni (FC Malaga)


Allan Nyom (FC Watford)

Sebastien Bassong (Norwich City)

Aurélien Chedjou (Galatasaray)

Nikolas Nkoulou (O. Marseille)

Henri Bedimo (Olympique Lyon)

Ambroise Oyongo Bitolo (Montreal Impact)

Kombi Mandjang (Union Douala)

Joel Matip (Schalke 04)

Marvin Matip (Uion of Douala)


Eyong Enoh (Standard Liège)

Stéphane Mbia (Fc Seville)

Raoul Cedric Loe (Osasuna)

Franck Kom (Etoile Sahel Sousse)

Benjamin Moukandjo (Stade Reims)

Sabestien Siani ( KV Ostende)

Salli Edgar ( FC St.Gallen)


Vincent Aboubakar (Fc Porto)

Leonard Kweuke (Caykur Rizespor)

Clinton Njie (Olympique Lyon)

Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting (Schalke 04)

Tony Tchani (Columbus Crew)

Oumarou Aboubakar ( Partizan Belgrad)