Wednesday, October 21, 2020
You are here: Home » Carousel » Biya Appoints 4 New Regional Governors Bookmark This Page

Biya Appoints 4 New Regional Governors 

By Basil Afoni


Cameroon’s President Paul Biya

President Paul Biya on Friday appointed new governors to four of Cameroon’s 10 regions.

Three SDOs were promoted by presidential decree to the rank of governor while one seating governor was transferred to another region. The only seating governor moved is Ivaha Diboua Samuel Dieudonné, who leaves the East Region to the helm of the Littoral, replacing Joseph Beti Assomo, appointed on October 2, 2015 as Minister of Defence.

The last time Biya appointed regional governors was on March 14, 2014.

Following are details of Friday’s presidential decision appointing new governors:


Governor of Adamawa Region:

Mr. Kildadi Taguiéké Boucar, senior civil administrator, previously Divisional Officer of Mayo Banyo, replacing Mr. Abakar Ahamat, who goes on retirement.

Governor of the Eastern Region:

Mr. Grégroire Mvogo, senior civil administrator, previously director of the organization of the territory to the Minister of Territorial Administration and Decentralization, to replace Mr. Samuel Dieudonné Ivaha Diboua (transferred).

Governor of the Littoral Region

Mr. Samuel Dieudonné Ivaha Diboua, senior civil servant, former governor of the Eastern Region, replacing Mr Joseph Beti Assomo, called to other duties.

Governor of the South Region

Mr. Felix Nguele Nguele, senior civil servant, former Divisional Officer of Mezam Division, replacing Mr. Jules Marcelin Njaga, who goes on retirement.


Complete List of Governors of Cameroon’s 10 Regions:

South West: Bernard Okalia Bilai

East: Grégroire Mvogo

Far North: Midjiyawa Bakari

Littoral: Samuel Dieudonné Ivaha Diboua

North: Jean Abate Edi

North West: Adolphe Lele L’afrique

West: Augustine Awa Fonka

South: Felix Nguele Nguele

Adamawa: Kildadi Taguiéké Boucar

Centre: Ottou Wilson